5 Favourite Things I’ve Learned In My #heroicminutechallenge

So, I started the #HeroicMinuteChallenge that was started by Arleen Spenceley and Leah Darrow a few weeks ago (I waited a full week before I joined in), and I’d be lying if I said I woke up at 5 am every single morning (I have more often than not though! And every day this week, so far) but I’ve been enjoying.

The purpose of the challenge, as I understood it, was that by waking up early in the morning we are able to carve out some time to do something we may not have time to do later in the day (pray, read, blog, etc) and I used it as the kick in the pants I needed to get to the gym in the mornings. I always mean to, but then I don’t. Then I mean to go after work (and then I don’t do that either).blog 5 faves

But it’s safe to say that in the last 2 weeks I’ve gone to the gym in the morning about 7 or 8 times, the mornings I don’t go to the gym I usually read).

FF1

I actually have time to make my bed in the morning. The first one is a little bit ridiculous, but I’m usually so rushed in the mornings that I’ve never mastered the art of making my bed every morning. Now I have the time, and it’s true what people say about how your room will look neater and it is more relaxing to have a made bed. So there, waking up 2 hours before my regular alarm, gives me time to be an adult. And that is awesome.

FF2

Immodest male clothing does exist. This isn’t a favourite persay, but it is something I learned. Since rejoining the Church a few years I’ve been trying to really grasp the concept of modesty because there is so much information out there, and I never really understood how a man’s clothing could be considered immodest. Then I started going to the gym at 530 am and there is a man that also goes that early who wears the tightest, shortest man-shorts ever. Like athletic boxer briefs. So yes, I’ve learned that sometimes men’s clothes can be immodest and that both men and women have to consider what they wear and more importantly, what they look at.

FF3

It’s easier to be at work. I don’t have kids, or a spouse but I do have a nasty habit of letting my work seep into every part of my life, and the last few weeks have been so busy that I didn’t even notice that the stress had started to interfere with my sleep and my life in general.  Taking some time in the morning for myself has made it so much easier to deal with work and stress.

 

FF4

 

Getting to 10,000 steps is not that hard. I joined a weightloss/diet group just after Easter and one of the statutes is to get 10,000 steps in and it is so much easier when I do 40 minutes on a treadmill in the morning. By the time I am done at the gym and walking to work I have about 2500 steps to get which isn’t hard at all.

 

FF5

The feeling of accomplishment. Even if I spend the rest of my day doing stuff of little importance, at least I’ve accomplished one thing for the day. I love the feeling of accomplishing something, even if it is just a 40 minute walk on a treadmill.

 

So, I’m not sure if I’ll keep this 5 am wake up thing forever, but so far it has been nothing but beneficial for me.

 

5-favorites-600x85

 

 

Linking up with Efficient Momma!

Leave a Reply

