2015: Reading Goals

Melody over at Melody’s Harmonies recently posted about reading 12 books that are collecting dust on her shelves that she intends to read in 2015. Which got me thinking about the books on my shelves that are currently dust collectors. And there are a lot….so, I am going to say that I’m going to try to finish each of these books,(I also talked a bit about my reading goals on my resolution post but the books below are the ones I’ve made the decision to finish). My goal is 1 a month, or 2 if they are small. And, I’d really love to say that 2015 will be the year that I don’t buy any new books and just focus on reading the books I have but…I’m a realist and books are my #1 impulse buy. Anyway, here’s what I’ve got so far:

    • The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak (completed February 3rd, 2015)
    • Sinner by Lino Rulli (removed, gave it back to the owner)
    • Truth and Tolerance by Joseph Ratzinger (now Pope Emeritus Benedict XVI)
    • Rooted in Love: Our Calling as Catholic Women by Donna-Marie Cooper O’Boyle (Completed Jan 08, 2015)
    • Catholicism by Fr. Robert Barron
    • St. Thomas Aquinas by GK Chesterton
    • Salt Sugar Fat by Michael Ross
    • The Loser Letters: A Comic Tale of Life, Death and Atheism by Mary Eberstadt (Completed Jan 06, 2015)
    • How Can the Dream Survive if We Kill All the Children by Dr. Alveda King
    • Great Christian Thinkers: Early Church through the Middle Ages by Pope Benedict XVI
    • Recall Abortion: Ending the Abortion’s Industry’s Exploitation of Women by Janet Morana (Completed Jan 19, 2015)

That’s only 11, but Pope Benedict’s books are quite dense so sometimes they take a bit longer to read than others. Also, some of these are definitely from Christmas 2013, don’t judge, and almost all of them are started.

reading goals

Books not on the list that I’ve read:

Pope Awesome (re-read for my books & breakfast club) (February 2015)
Politically Incorrect Guide to Islam and the Crusades (March 2015)
Not God’s Type (April 2015)
The Fellowship of the Ring (technically a re-read, but it had been more than 10 years) (June 2015)
Go Set a Watchmen (July 2015)
The Child Bride (don’t remember the month)
Under the Banner of Heaven (July 2015)
My Sister’s Keeper (August 2015)
33 Days to Morning Glory (August 15, 2015)
My Sister’s Keeper (August 2015)
Loved as I Am (September 2015)
Pro-Life 101 (September 2015)
Persuasive Pro-Life (September 2015)
My Secret Sister (October 2015)
Gail Vaz Oxlade’s Money Rules (October 2015)
7 Women (November 2015)
Subverted (November 2015)
Girl Alone (November 2o15)

 

Books I’ve Started and Haven’t finished:
The Church and New Media
The Two Towers
Love and Responsibility

5 thoughts on “2015: Reading Goals

  1. Great list!
    I hear you on the no new boom buying! I could probably go 3 years before I buy a new book if I just stick to the ones I currently own. Though that does mean giving up new releases… not sure I’m ready for that commitment. Lol

  2. Pingback: 7 Quick Takes – To-dos, Not Alone Series and more! | Catholic Ginger

  3. Pingback: 7 Quickies: Whole30, Lent and Shoes! Oh my. | Catholic Ginger

Leave a Reply

