Open Letter to My MLA

Today I wrote a letter to my local member of legislative assembly (MLA), he belongs to a prochoice party and I certainly didn’t vote for him, but the pro-life MLAs are trying to get a debate open before the Liberal Leader of New Brunswick unilaterally and behind close doors makes decisions that will be to the very detriment of my province. 

I want to talk to you a little bit about the abortion issue and how New Brunswick is currently handling it. I know I’m probably just one voice and that most of your supporters are encouraging you to support Brian Gallant’s plans.

I’m in my 20s and I firmly believe that I have no right to an abortion and that the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms supports this belief. I assume you are familiar with the Canadian Charter? It states that all Canadians have the right to “life, liberty and security of person”. Not having access to abortion doesn’t trample on these rights. However, more than just incorrectly using the charter to support an unnecessary procedure I’d like you to consider the economic implications of funding abortion.

Paying for an elective procedure is something the New Brunswick government can ill-afford. Our Medicare system is already straining because young people are leaving New Brunswick and older people are retiring. The Telegraph-Journal reported that funded abortions would cost approx. $500,000 to $700,000 additional each year. Where is this money going to come from? Is New Brunswick going to go further into debt for an elective and, in the majority of cases, completely unnecessary procedure?

Population growth triggers economic growth. If younger people were encouraged to stay in New Brunswick and to start families and work in this province think of how much good that could for New Brunswick. If New Brunswick became a province that fostered a culture of life the economy would recover. However, this can only happen if we don’t use the little tax money New Brunswick currently has available to fund a procedure that literally kills the future of the province.

I know that pro-abortion advocates (who are the minority in this province ) like to paint a doom and gloom outlook for maternal health if abortion were to become unavailable, but the fact is, they have no proof. The coat hanger statistics that are often quoted were fabricated by Dr. Bernard Nathanson, the 1 in 3 women have abortion statistic is also a fabrication. The fact is that in country with no abortion access maternal death rates are lower (the Republic of Ireland, for example, reported 6 deaths per 100 birth in 2013 while Canada has 45) and more women die from legal abortion than illegal abortion (the CDC recently released a review of abortion in the United States and it showed that from 1973 to 2010 421 women died from legal abortion and in the same time frame 56 died from illegal).

My point is that abortion doesn’t make sense. Economically it does more harm than good, it causes a higher number of deaths than pregnancy (not to mention the well documented post-abortive syndrome and substance abuse that occurs in women that have had abortions), and the Charter of Rights does not require abortion to be publically funded.

I just ask that you consider facts and not rhetoric when it comes to the abortion debate in New Brunswick. I ask that you consider science (new DNA from the moment of conception and a heart beat by 6 weeks in utero). I ask that you consider the economy and the future of a province you clearly care about.

I chose to move to this province bucking the trend of most people my age who move away from New Brunswick, please vote against publically funded abortion if you are given the chance. It’s a better choice for New Brunswick.

Leave a Reply

