Prayer at Home – Not Alone Series v.1

I’ve been part of the Not Alone Series Facebook group for months now, but I have not actually participated in their link up. Partly because I haven’t really been feeling very blog-y and partly because I feel like I have nothing to contribute to the chosen topics (but I can’t even think of anything to suggest). It’s frustrating.

But anyway, this week’s topic is prayer in the home or “How do we pray at home” I like this topic because I don’t have a prayer routine. I wish I did. So I’m hoping to see what suggestions some of the other women have to offer.

 

I am terrible at prayer. I do it consistently, and then I fall out of the routine and it becomes sporadic or non-existent.

 

But in an ideal world, when I am praying it looks something like this:

 

20141118_170042

 

I don’t pray the rosary. I’ve tried. But I just can’t get into it. I’m just not drawn to it, however, I do like the beads. I fidget all the time and I use the beads to represent different prayers. It varies and it keeps me focussed on the prayers.

 

I’m doing this in the wrong order because I usually start with a passage from Scripture. If there is something in particular I’ll look up “patience” or “temperance” in the key word index and read those verses. Usually though I just flip it open and read the first passage I see and then reflect on it in my handy dandy journal.

wpid-20141118_170443.jpg

It’s super cute with a goldfoil owl and dots on the front. I then usually follow a formula of writing what I’m thankful for, what I’m struggling with, and my reflections on the passage, etc.

 

Then I pray with my beads about specific intentions (which I track at the back of my journal) and then I pray the prayer of Benediction of the Most Holy Sacrament, because I love this prayer. It’s such a beautiful reminder of the Trinity, the True Presence and Mary and the Saints. I try to run through the benediction at least once a day. It’s beautiful.

I also wrote it in the back of my notebook, because I’ve not yet memorized it.

 

And I do this all from my bed. I would love to make a little altar or shrine in my apartment but my roommate would not approve and I don’t really have space in my bedroom. I’ll try to figure out something. At the very least, I need to get a crucifix. #worstcatholicever

 

BUT! This is unrelated, but I’m so excited about it, I got this:

10390924_10152612843291263_3695447473391480489_n

at a local craft fair. That’s beeswax, y’all. $12. Perfection.

 

Anyway, that’s it. I rarely pray, but when I do I pray before bed. In my bed. I have a few prayerful songs on my phone and when I walk to work and they come on the shuffle I focus and sing along (in my head) and just be present in the music and the lyrics.

 

My favourite is:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Prayer at Home – Not Alone Series v.1

  1. First of all I am glad you joined! Secondly, I Iike your blog design, that clementine color is beautiful. Thirdly, i too struggle with praying the rosary. However, may I suggest that if you really want to become a woman who prays the rosary (which don’t we all want to be) start with just trying to pray a decade. In times when I have been good about praying a daily rosary that is what I started with and it really helped.

  2. Hi Natalie,
    Thanks for reading! The blog design was a free template. I really like it.
    I like the suggestion of starting with a decade, my trouble with the rosary isn’t so much the praying all of it so much as I’m not drawn to Mary or Marian prayers. I could probably dive into that in another blog post because it’s a stumbling block for me because I feel like this bad Catholic woman for not wanting to be that person with the devotion to the rosary.

    Thanks for the comment though. I’ll definitely take it into consideration as I try to make a more solid and less sporadic prayer routine! 🙂

  3. First, welcome so happy you are joining us.
    Second, that beeswax is awesome!!! I am watching it and asking myself how, a very talented artist.
    I look up words in my bible or google to find verses too.

  4. Welcome!!! 🙂 So glad you have joined us. 🙂 🙂

    I am with you about praying consistently. It’s something I struggle with… and it’s one of those things that WE SHOULD BE ABLE TO JUST DO… ya know?! Blah. I take comfort in that fact that Jesus is always present… the time that I do give him, even if it’s just a “thank you, Jesus!” for a good parking spot… he knows our heart. He knows we desire more. So, that when I do have more time devoted, I am not dwelling so much on what I should have been doing better.

    And your journal sounds adorable. 🙂

  5. Welcome to NAS! 🙂 Don’t get discouraged if your prayer life isn’t where you want it to be (or if it doesn’t exist! 🙂 ) Start small but be consistent. God wants to hear from you. Find what works for you and stick to it. Some things that have helped me create a routine:

    -Time: do it the same time every day
    -Place: chair, bed, etc. Sounds like you like to cozy in bed! I’ve done that too, although I focus best if I sit up and have a light on…otherwise I fall asleep, haha
    -Timer: you can set a time limit or even a timer. Start small and try to stay focused within that amount of time (five minutes? Ten minutes?)
    -Read the Mass readings for the day (phone app?) or use a prayer book to get you started. Then finish with talking to God in your own words. He’s such a Father and Friend and just wants us to be real with Him.

    Have you heard of the acronym ACTS? A: adore God. C: contrition, how have you sinned? T: thank Him for blessings of the day. S: supplication. What do you want and need? Who should you pray for?

    Hope that helps! We all go through dry and unmotivated seasons, so hang in there! God is still with you!

    Love,
    Laura

  6. I second the welcome and the comments about your blog design. I’m not usually a fan of orange, but this is lovely.

    You’re not alone in not being a fan of the rosary. I think there are many perfectly well-involved Catholics for whom it just doesn’t click. I fall in and out of the habit myself. These days, I pray on my agonizing commute home, so until I get a new job, that’s five times a week!

    You have to stick with the prayer methods you know the best. The one prayer you mentioned I know as the Divine Praises, and I love them, too. I belong to a weekly Eucharistic adoration group, and the version they pray has “Consoler” instead of “Paraclete” for the Holy Spirit. I’m not a fan; I just quietly say “consoler.” I’m such a renegade (not).

      • “Consoler” does have a nice ring to it. I read at Pentecost that “paraclete” is more like a divine prosecutor, holding us to the faithfulness we abandon so often. I need to be called to task like that!

Leave a Reply

